Saturday, January 23, 2016

The Early Bird Gets the Worm

Morning really is the most peaceful time of the day. However, waking up early has never been my forte. Having a puppy has helped me get into a morning routine because who wants pee all over the floor (although, I can slack a bit more now that she is trained).  So I wake up and let the pup out between 5:00 and 6:30 a.m. I give her her breakfast which is 2 cups of puppy food and a fish oil vitamin. She seemed to be allergic to chicken meal which was a popular ingredient in a lot of puppy chow so now she gets lamb and rice.



Next I make my Shakeology which is a meal supplement with lots of power food ingredients. I'm trying to get 20 minutes of yoga in daily before I get the kids up, but I've only been successful doing this once. The experts say it takes a month to rewire your thinking but I have been successful at making my shake almost everyday and have almost been able to get to the gym weekly. Along with my healthy shake I take my multivitamins, fish oil vitamin, and tumeric. Tumeric is supposed to help with inflamation. I also want to add magnesium too see if it helps with my energy level. I found that it's nice to have an hour awake before I wake my kids up and to enjoy the peace and stillness of the morning.



 I attempt to wake the kids up.  The experts say, "kids thrive on a schedule". Shoot I've never been good at this. Okay, my youngest is actually the one that makes us late. I could get her up two hours before its time to leave and somehow she could find something that makes us late. She is turning 7 in one week. I think she will turn the corner because my older child had defiant issues and now he is pretty reasonable. He still has his moments though. Being a Mother is not easy and my problem for the last 10 years is finding balance and to even think or care about myself. A mother naturally puts everyone else first. And what is one of the golden rules, "Take care of yourself first so you can take care of others." This year because things have gotten shaken up for a reason I can't put my finger on, I've been almost forced to think of myself. So there it is my blessing out of this mess is to learn to take care of myself too, "I matter!".  And another thing is GRATITUDE! I think I've always had gratitude but I don't think I express it. Okay, why didn't I mention this first thing? I think that the most important thing I have learned in the last 6-7 months is to have gratitude and to be conscious of it. If I could teach this and nothing else to my kids I'd be happy. My husband and I struggle with the idea that our kids are not grateful for the life that they have. Now that I'm reflecting I can maybe see that I nor my husband have shown by example. I appreciate my life and everything that has been given to me and taken from me.

To sum up this rant. I have done the following to try to help myself feel better: a routine, less t.v., less social media, more vitamins, a healthier diet, daily excercise, new pets, a cleaner house and car and the most important thing of all "gratitude".

My next objective is to learn to be more calm and patient with my children. I'm just going to keep on working to do my best and to appreciate the life that I have!

Peace out!

No comments:

Post a Comment